Book Reviews, YA Book Club for Writers

Book Club Review: Pax by Sara Pennypacker

Illustrated by Jon Klassen. Pax and Peter have been inseparable ever since Peter rescued him as a kit. But one day, the unimaginable happens: Peter's dad enlists in the military and makes him return the fox to the wild. At his grandfather's house, three hundred miles away from home, Peter knows he isn't where he… Continue reading Book Club Review: Pax by Sara Pennypacker

Book Reviews, YA Book Club for Writers

Book Club Review: The Library of Ever by Zeno Alexander

With her parents off traveling the globe, Lenora is bored, bored, bored―until she discovers a secret doorway into the ultimate library. Mazelike and reality-bending, the library contains all the universe’s wisdom. Every book ever written, and every fact ever known, can be found within its walls. And Lenora becomes its newly appointed Fourth Assistant Apprentice… Continue reading Book Club Review: The Library of Ever by Zeno Alexander

Reading, YA Book Club for Writers

YA Book Club – January Book Announcement

Please read along with us in January! The Mystery of Black Hollow Lane by Julia Nobel For fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and The Blackthorn Key series comes an award-winning boarding school mystery about twelve year old Emmy, who's shipped off to a prestigious British school. But her new home is hiding a secret… Continue reading YA Book Club – January Book Announcement

Reading, YA Book Club for Writers

YA Book Club – December Book Announcement

Normally we wouldn't have a book for December as the month is so busy, however, 2020 being what it is, we decided to continue, as we did over the summer. Please read along with us in December! Pax by Sara Pennypackerand illustrated by Jon Klassen Pax and Peter have been inseparable ever since Peter rescued… Continue reading YA Book Club – December Book Announcement

Book Reviews, YA Book Club for Writers

Book Club Review: City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab

Ever since Cass almost drowned (okay, she did drown, but she doesn't like to think about it), she can pull back the Veil that separates the living from the dead . . . and enter the world of spirits. Her best friend is even a ghost. So things are already pretty strange. But they're about… Continue reading Book Club Review: City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab

Reading, YA Book Club for Writers

YA Book Club – November Book Announcement

Please read along with us in November! The Library of Ever by Zeno Alexander With her parents off traveling the globe, Lenora is bored, bored, bored―until she discovers a secret doorway into the ultimate library. Mazelike and reality-bending, the library contains all the universe’s wisdom. Every book ever written, and every fact ever known, can… Continue reading YA Book Club – November Book Announcement

Book Reviews, YA Book Club for Writers

Book Club Review: Nevers by Sara Cassidy

Resourceful fourteen-year-old Odette is on the move again, traveling as a stowaway on a cheese cart with her hapless mother, Anneline. They are in Burgundy, France, in 1799, fleeing yet another calamity caused by Anneline (who is prone to killing people accidentally). At dawn they find themselves in a town called Nevers, which is filled… Continue reading Book Club Review: Nevers by Sara Cassidy

Reading, YA Book Club for Writers

YA Book Club – October Book Announcement

Please read along with us in October! City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab Ever since Cass almost drowned (okay, she did drown, but she doesn't like to think about it), she can pull back the Veil that separates the living from the dead . . . and enter the world of spirits. Her best friend… Continue reading YA Book Club – October Book Announcement

Book Reviews, YA Book Club for Writers

Book Club Review: The Blackthorn Key by Kevin Sands

“Tell no one what I’ve given you.” Until he got that cryptic warning, Christopher Rowe was happy, learning how to solve complex codes and puzzles and creating powerful medicines, potions, and weapons as an apprentice to Master Benedict Blackthorn—with maybe an explosion or two along the way. But when a mysterious cult begins to prey… Continue reading Book Club Review: The Blackthorn Key by Kevin Sands

Reading, YA Book Club for Writers

YA Book Club – September Book Announcement

Please read along with us in September! Nevers by Sara Cassidy Resourceful fourteen-year-old Odette is on the move again, traveling as a stowaway on a cheese cart with her hapless mother, Anneline. They are in Burgundy, France, in 1799, fleeing yet another calamity caused by Anneline (who is prone to killing people accidentally). At dawn… Continue reading YA Book Club – September Book Announcement